Adam Stevens Photography

March 19, 2010

“in the frame” Randy Phillips…

Have you ever wondered what happened to the wacky guy who drug you all over the US, Canada and into a foreign country in a 12 passenger van when you were in high school?  You know, the guy.  If you remember all the way back to high school.  He (or she) was probably the one adult that seemed to “get you”.  He’d let you think you were getting away with more than your parents would have.  And you could tell him things that you would not tell anyone not born in your decade.  He actually listened to some of the same music, but was up front to point out that some of it was, well, nasty junk.  He’d say “do you hear what they are saying?” and your immediate reaction was to re-listen to the song, not kick out with a “whatever (insert parental authority figure of choice), you just don’t get it”.  Yeah, that’s the guy.  For me that guy was Randy Phillips.  He took over the youth group at the Church I grew up at right before I stepped into the awkward bumbling stage that I managed to live all through high school. From Seattle, to Canada, to Colorado to Ecuador, he was around to keep me from killing myself not that I was suicidal.  Just a regular guy trying to prove something.  He had a front row seat as I managed to repeatedly make a fool of myself, and while I think he enjoyed the antics he always seemed to enjoy more the conversations we had about how I might have handled a situation better.  In a nutshell, he let me make safe mistakes right in front of him, and was always willing to be a sounding board as I figured myself out

Is he different now?  Well sort of.  During a hiatus from ministry he started his own highly successful consulting business.  Check him out here: http://www.redpointleadership.com/ he’s also on FaceBook, and if you know him I would recommend keeping in touch with him there, I don’t think he holds still very long.

Back to the consulting, I have always been a bit skeptical of consultants.  Our lunch the other day changed that forever.  Over a flash back filled lunch at Taco Bell, he gave me more to think about with respect to my photography business than I can grind through in a month.  I’m still working on the first two big points he made for me. In fact I was so engrossed in our conversation, it wasn’t till I realized that I needed to have left 10 min before that I even pulled out my camera! He kept talking while I shot, we must have looked kind of ridiculous, and I only had a couple of keepers.  I had no luck filing all the rich information he had poured into my head enough to think about anything but grabbing a roughly appropriate exposure, and as to the other “things” I try to bring to the table photographically, I crashed and burned. I supposed in the end it worked.

The crazy thing?  Looking through the photos, he looks exactly the same as I remember him.  Whatever he’s using.  I want some.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

