Adam Stevens Photography

December 15, 2009

Ooh HD video with my DSLR!!!

Filed under: For Photograpers, Personal — Tags: , , , — photobby @ 10:24 pm

Well kind of. I was torn a few months ago with the imminent birth of our second kiddo. I desperately wanted to get a newer video camera, but also wanted to upgrade my DSLR. The D90 seemed like a good call, the body was about the price of the HD camcorder… and it shot HD video! Or at least HD resolution. Sort of. I ended up deciding to get the dedicated camcorder (Canon HF10).  I love it and it works really well for what I want to use it for.  I ended up picking up a D300, not the D90 but that’s a discussion for a different day.

So where am I going with this?  There was a post the other day over at ProLost (video site) about shooting video with a DSLR.  While some truly great photographers have managed some incredible stuff with some of the video DSLR’s there is a bit of a hole in their armor, and although workable is one of those pixel peeping issues that warrants a link (IMHO).  So here’s the link, http://prolost.com/blog/2009/12/3/you-didnt-believe-me.html.  Interesting and although I don’t think I’ll ever shoot a zebra standing on it’s head in the savanna, it’s worth understanding how the gear we use affects the final product.

Oh and as a side note, I got the HF 10 just after the HF 20 came out, (which is my norm, to buy just behind the tech curve) so I got a “$1,200” camcorder for ~$600 as the HF 20 was at the time listed for $1,200.  And what do I shoot with my camcorder?  All the normal boring dad stuff.  And it works great.  Even lets me adjust the f stop for shallow depth of field shooting (sort of).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

