Adam Stevens Photography

January 28, 2009

Re-naming and “the one that got away”

Filed under: Nature & Landscape, Personal — photobby @ 10:02 pm

So I took some heat for the title of the last post.  Probably very well founded.  I should have known better….  “The one that got away” is not as attention grabbing and would have done just as well getting the idea across.  So here is what I have now!  I bumped into a friend of my parents while having coffee the other day.  Starbucks sure can make the world small.  So can social networking sites….  So Andy said to say “Hi” to my folks, and I figured that would be that.  Later that evening I got a friend request on Facebood from him.  OK I thought, and then fell out of my chair.

I remember Andy as one of the Missionary’s that my dad would talk about, and stay in touch with.  He is an incredibly gifted photographer too!  I had no idea and if it wasn’t for Facebook and Flickr I would still have no idea.  Andy has a great eye for composition, and a real skill at HDR.  HDR (or High Dynamic Range) photography looks kind of odd, sometimes.  Basically it uses multiple exposures to show all the detail in the really bright areas, and in the shadows too.  Something Film never could do, and Digital is even worse at.  There is really no right or wrong way to do it.  Some HDR stuff looks wild, other stuff looks closer to what I remember in my mind.  But it takes time.  If you know me you know I don’t like to do a lot of post production work.  I’d rather be shooting, or playing.  Seeing some of the stuff Andy as done got me motivated though.

So here is my re-visit of the truck in the woods.  HDRed.  I’m not crazy about a lot of it.  Way too much noise (I have that coming though, shooting at iso 800) and it looks, um, florescent.  But I think I like where it’s headed.  I don’t plan on filling the blog with psychedelic photos, but you might see a few more from time to time.

: D50 24-70 2.8 @28mm f4 iso 800 photomatrix from 1 raw file :

I would also hightly recommend hitting Andy’s Flickr page, as well as his blog.  Links below…

Andy’s Blog:  http://www.andresjourney.info/andres/

Andy’s Flickr Page: http://www.flickr.com/photos/papalars/

Andy’s SmugMug Page: http://www.larsfotos.smugmug.com/

Say “Hi” to him for me!  Oh and to reinforce what I have heard elsewhere, Getty Images has picked Andy up and is carrying some of this work in their “stock library”.  Did you get that?  They found him and pursued him, what photog wouldn’t love that!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

